New Jersey Real Estate Licensee Continuing Education


Commencing on July 1, 2013, in order to qualify for renewal or to reinstate an unrenewed license after that date, every individual licensed as a broker, broker-salesperson or salesperson must complete 12 hours of continuing education. At least six of the twelve credits must be obtained in courses within the following “core topics:”


image

Course topics include:


Agency
Disclosure
Legal issues
Ethics
Fair housing and the NJ Law Against Discrimination
New Jersey real estate licensee statute and rules
New Jersey and Federal environmental laws/rules
Legal requirements regarding escrow and financial recordkeeping


At least 2 credit hours of the 6 must be in the topic of ethics. The remaining 6 credits can be elective topics which have been approved for CE credit.

You do not need to fulfill any CE requirements if you became licensed within the second year of the 2 year licensing term.

Licensed referral agents are not required to complete continuing education. However, after July 1, 2013 they will be required to complete CE in order to change their license type to that of a salesperson or broker-salesperson or individual broker.